PDA

View Full Version : Sketches, Preplanning and Digital Art

Elainepsq
10-19-2013, 01:29 PM
Last week, I went to my weekly drawing group, and had the pleasure of sitting and talking with a friend who is a retired Illustrator, as well as an art teacher on the college level. In the course of the conversation, she talked about how she required several sketches before students would jump into an illustration and how much frustration it caused. However, she recently heard from a former colleague that her policy of thumbnails and sketches have become more widespread among other teachers at the college, and that they feel the students are struggling less with composition, tonal values etc.
That said, I thought of my own experience, as a young artist I hated to do the sketches, I felt I lost spontaneity by the time I got around to the real thing, but as I'm growing older, I'm interested in trying to do more pre-planning.
So this morning, I did. I pulled up a photos I took yesterday, where I got to combine a paid photography gig with a walk on a beautiful fall day.
As long as I was at my computer, I decided to do some sketching/planning in Artrage. I used a lot of layers and found myself stretching and rearranging things to improve my compostion as I worked- much better than after I've started painting with expensive D'Arches watercolor paper.

So rather than bore you :wink2: with any more details, Here's my question: Do any of you use digital media as a means of sketching and planning for "other art"?
If so tell us about it and how you think it helps or hinders.

I am going to set up to paint in watercolor from my digital sketch on one monitor and my photo on another. Perhaps later or tomorrow, I will show you both.

Elaine:wave:

b'anna
10-19-2013, 01:59 PM