PDA

View Full Version : First pastel portrait - need help with hair!

CMcLaughlin
10-05-2013, 11:36 AM
I am brand new to pastels. I'm working on a portrait of my son and need help with the hair.

I'm using Kohinoor Toison D'Or soft pastels on a cream Mi-Teintes, with colored pencils for the eyes and mouth. (I originally intended to do it on sandpaper, but I couldn't get the drawing to transfer to it.)

I think I made things worse when I went over the hairline with the brown pastel trying to cover the line from the drawing. But I don't know where to go from here. Any suggestions on what to do?

Thanks!

DAK723
10-05-2013, 07:44 PM
First let me say welcome to the pastel forum! Thanks for joining us!

Second let me rotate your painting:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Oct-2013/82335-Cameron-straight_portrait.jpg

I have a couple comments that go beyond the hair - I hope you don't mind.

This is a very difficult photo to do a portrait from. It looks like a flash was used and there are very few shadows. In order to model form, you need light and shadow. A very common lighting for portraits is light coming from an angle from the side and front so that there will be a shadow on one side of the nose, for example. Without shadows helping depict the form, an artist is really in a tough situation.

When you do have light and shadow, this means that you will be painting shapes of light and shadow, not eyes, noses, and mouths, hair, etc.

A few years ago, I did a lesson here in the pastel forum about portraits. If you are interested, here's a link:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=538364

The link is for lesson 2, but includes a link for lesson 1. Lesson two includes a section on hair.