PDA

View Full Version : Dragging the boat in . . . WIP

Bongo1
09-28-2013, 06:23 PM
I would love your thoughts on this pastel painting! It's 18" by 24" on Colorfix; ludwigs and rembrandts. Do you get a sense of distance? Perspective? The distinction between foreground and background?

I'm new to seascapes and landscapes; mainly do portraiture. I'd very much appreciate your honest advice.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Sep-2013/129788-Fishboat.small.jpg

artsask
09-29-2013, 10:23 AM
I like your style.

Trudi

Ruthie57
09-29-2013, 12:15 PM
Interesting subject and a bit of a departure for you Bongo!
Yes, the boat and the wooden structure do stand out from the background. However, to me the background land looks a little too dark in value to read as being as far away as it should be, if you see what I mean.
I know the front area isn't finished but do try to resist doing too much more to it. The shallow water , the shadows and the foam already look very good to me!

DAK723
09-29-2013, 05:02 PM
Very nicely done! Yes, the background could be a touch lighter in value, but I think the fact that you have softened all of those edges and put the background out of focus more than makes up for it. Very well done all around!

Don

Bongo1
09-29-2013, 11:54 PM
All,

Thanks for your great comments. I made adjustments throughout the painting. What do you think?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Sep-2013/129788-fishingboat2.small.jpg

jackiesimmonds
09-30-2013, 03:33 AM
Nice subject, I can understand why you decided to tackle it.

A few things bother me. I know the treatment is fairly loose...but even within looseness, it needs some underlying accuracy.

The two figures which are the closest to us....I find the red head on one rather distracting, it is like that person is wearing a baseball helmet. I would make the head dark, in your shoes, and perhaps slightly smaller too.