PDA

View Full Version : Which pastels to try?

CMcLaughlin
09-22-2013, 10:08 PM
I am a beginning artist and have started out with graphite and colored pencil. I am considering switching from colored pencil to pastel but not sure what pastels I should try to start.

There are two main reasons I'm thinking about pastels:
1. I find it very difficult to get really smooth blending in colored pencil like in graphite. I've seen professional works that look smooth, but it will take a long time for me to get to that point. I watched some demos of Colin Bradley using pastel pencils, and it was so simple to get the pencils to blend beautifully. (I mean in terms of the edges between different shades, rather than blending to create totally new colors).
2. I've had chronic tennis elbow in the past, and I'm afraid the fine repetitive strokes and multiple layers needed for colored pencil could cause me problems. It would help to be able to do more broad strokes and less layers.

I'm interested in a style with high realism and detail; I really like Colin Bradley's work. He uses only pastel pencil, but I'm wondering whether I should try a combination. To get the best of both easy coverage of large areas and the ability to add fine details, would I use soft pastel with pastel pencil? I read a comment that sometimes the pastel pencil doesn't stick over soft pencil. Or should I try hard pastel with pastel pencil?

I would appreciate any advice.

Nilan6
09-23-2013, 12:18 PM
Hello CMcLaughlin and welcome to WC forums :)

I read your post and had a feeling of deja vu as I was exactly in the same boat about 2 weeks ago. :D
I myself am brand new to the world of soft pastels and had to deliberate on which pastel brand to buy.

From what I have been able to gather through my readings, there exist broadly 3 classes of soft/chalk pastels.

1. Hard pastels
2. Soft pastels
3. Handmade pastels

Hard pastels, if I may venture, are said to be usually good for preliminary sketches/underpaintings.