PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from India and newbie pastel storage issues

Nilan6
09-22-2013, 11:42 AM
Hello all :wave:,

I am a newbie here and have been quietly reading and absorbing the wealth of information on the WC forum for the greater part of this year.

While admittedly I bumped into WC for watercolours, my first post happens to be in the pastel forum....cuz well I need some help lol :D

Pastels as a medium are completely new to me (and by new I mean about 6-8 weeks since I became aware about them & less than 2 weeks since I had my first crack at them!). Growing up we never had access to soft pastels, they simply did not exist where I live, and only about 2 weeks back I ordered my first artist quality pastels ( Mungyo Gallery Extra soft pastels).

Now the issue is, I did not expect to produce even decent paintings any time soon. So, I used normal Cartridge paper to practice. While my first ever attempt at pastel was ok I think( for being the very first attempt), it is the second painting which has caused much ecstasy and grief at the same time...ecstasy because of how well it turned out and grief as I don't know how to preserve/store it. In fact, it kind of got ruined last night when I tried spraying my homemade fixative on it :( Quite a bit of pastel got blown away:eek:

Now, I tried to upload the photos of the paintings to show what I meant, but it seems I need to wait for 2 posts before I am able to do it.

So, quite simply put , how does one preserve pastel paintings on cartridge paper? Framing is not possible at the moment due to inadequate finances(home repair in progress)

Colorix
09-22-2013, 12:11 PM
Hi Nilan, welcome to the dusty side of WC! Spraying fixative will not give sufficient protection (and you may have spayed to close to the painting). The best is to put the painting behind glass, but there are other and cheaper ways to protect a painting. You can cover it with glassine, for example.

Nilan6
09-23-2013, 11:05 AM