PDA

View Full Version : Rocky Bay Store WIP

DillpickleNZ
09-11-2013, 08:45 PM
Hi, I just tried to post the following in Open Critique Forum but got an error message, so will try here. (luckily I managed to copy my blurb, before losing it so here's the paste):

Atrocious weather here in Auckland, sky's getting darker by the minute and too dark to paint.
I've been working on this painting for some time and I'm sort-of stuck.
The Rocky bay store is/was an iconic building with heritage status and much loved by Waihekians.
I took the photo some years ago before it fell into disrepair and is now a mere shadow of itself.
The picture shows only the right half of both the painting and the photo to reduce file size.
Where I'm stuck is the area beneath the veranda. I'm mainly a landscape painter and have trouble with those straight lines of houses.

What I would like to know is, how much detail is necessary, do I really need to paint every window sill, doorpost etc? Also what paint mix should I use for the shadowy areas under the roof?
The greens of the painted foliage is not quite as bright green as show here, but is still too green compared with the photo. What paint mix would come closer do you think?
Any and all C & C welcome.
Thanks, Emma
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-Sep-2013/42101-rbstore-4WC_upload.jpg

DillpickleNZ
09-11-2013, 08:55 PM
PS, this is acrylic paint on canvas sheet from pad. 30cm h x 39cm w. To add a little interest to the expanse of road in front, I decided to add some roosters (another iconic sight on Waiheke). I need to redo the smaller one on the right, it looks too amateurish!

La_
09-12-2013, 02:56 AM
you've started with a good sketch and fairly solid, crisp paint coverage, mostly foreground stuff ... behind foreground can certainly be less pronounced, secondary, alluded to, softer, lighter.