PDA

View Full Version : My first still life from the reference photo repository

adieaf6
08-31-2013, 03:12 PM
Hi, this is my first attempt at a still life in watercolour. Its about 9 inches by 6 inches using windsor and newton artist paints on some paper I had hanging around.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/31-Aug-2013/1346137-still_life__1377975975_82.47.203.126.jpg

Thank you for all your help on my other picture. What do you think to this one please.

Adie

adieaf6
09-01-2013, 03:36 AM
What I was wondering was whether I am approaching watercolour correctly. I am used to working in Acrylic and Oils, this is a new medium for me and I think I may not be approaching it properly. Am I using watercolour too much like oils? I am quite pleased with this picture but I really wanted the thoughts of more experienced watercolour artists and indeed any other people who might offer an opinion. This will help me greatly in exploring my use of watercolour; I really am a beginner here. Thank you. Adie:cool:

painterbear
09-01-2013, 05:10 AM
Adie,
You did a beautiful job with this lovely reference photo which many of us have also painted. :D

It does have the look of an oil painting about it. Perhaps you need to use a bit more water with your paints and let them flow on the paper more to get the watercolor look.

Have you checked out the section in the Learning Demos (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3832113#post3832113) called Beginners Corner? You might find some of those exercises fun to paint.

:D

Sylvia

adieaf6
09-01-2013, 05:17 AM
Thank you Silvia. I wonder if there is a way to view other peoples work from this and other reference material on WetCanvas. I am so impressed with WetCanvas, it's made up of very generous and passionate people. More comments very welcome.

Adie.

adieaf6
09-01-2013, 05:25 AM