PDA

View Full Version : May's Treasurer

kya
08-29-2013, 07:45 PM
Hello, this is my first posting in the pastel forum. I'm new to soft pastels and have been doing a lot of reading up on it. So far my experience has been a good one. I love watercolor but soft pastel is beginning to grow on me as well.
Anyway, this is a painting of lilacs I started back in May using watercolor. But the lilacs became overworked and had a dull look I did not like but I really liked the backgrounds atmospheric feel, so I thought of doing the lilacs only in pastels after the painting leaned against the wall for months. I know I still need to add branches so the leaves aren't just floating out there but I'm wondering what am I doing wrong or what can I do to improve on this. The lilac blooms in particular. Any help is appreciated.
Oh and I'm not happy about the mfg mark in upper left hand corner. Never saw it till paint was put down ....dang!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Aug-2013/164185-May_Treasurer_800x595.jpg

pastel65
08-29-2013, 10:57 PM
Love all the colors. I would just recommend more dark in Lilacs to give more definition. Pam:wave:

DAK723
08-30-2013, 08:28 AM
Thanks for joining us here in pastels! This is looking good! Like all mediums, pastels has its own characteristics that take some getting used to!

One thing you may find helpful as you proceed in pastels, is to start experimenting with pastel papers. While it is possible to use pastels on watercolor - or other - papers, they work best on pastel papers, which usually have some sort of surface made to hold pastel dust better. The sanded papers are very popular in that they allow one to apply many layers of pastel on top of one another to build up both darks and, more importantly, lights.