PDA

View Full Version : My first pastel still life

Barbora
08-21-2013, 05:39 AM
Hi everyone! :wave:
I am new to WC as well as to the pastels, and this is my first pastel still life. The original is 17x21 cm. Not sure about the paper, but the colours are koh-i-noor's toison d'or.
I am quite happy with the outcome, although the vase looks a bit deformed.
I would like to know what do you use for sketching? I used the pastel I was later drawing with, but in the process I somehow "lost the lines" and it ended looking strange :). And also how do you store the completed image? I don't really like the effect a fixative does.
Your opinions are very welcomed.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Aug-2013/1291361-still-life.jpg

DAK723
08-21-2013, 07:57 AM
Welcome to the pastel forum! This is very nicely done!

I, too, lay in my initial sketch with a pastel. Rather than think in terms of "line" when you lay in your sketch, you might think of blocking in shapes (silhouettes of the entire shapes rather than lines) - that way you don't lose the lines as you add layers of pastel. Just a thought. It's a different way of working (not necessarily better) but might be interesting to try!

I store my completed pastels by "hinge" taping them to a piece of foam board, then tape down a piece of tracing paper over the painting. Some folks use glassine to cover the painting, but it is a bit more expensive and I am cheap!

Don

sketchZ1ol
08-21-2013, 10:30 AM
hello
and welcome . :)

all my work is on paper , and there are subtle variations between types/brands !
some of the papers take in the colour of any stick and even the most vigorous erasing still leaves a ' ghost ' of the colour .
- making corrections to lines outlines/edges won't come away clean , so ,
vine or willow charcoal is my choice for sketching/composition .
-- it wipes , erases , or brushes away easily , and the ghost is a neutral gray .

other folks here will have other ideas about your question .