PDA

View Full Version : 1st try at posting

RuthT
06-25-2001, 11:08 AM
Hi fellow members - this is my first try at posting a painting. If i get a successful image up, I would like some suggestions on how to turn my work into a finished painting. I seem to get so far and then get blocked.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Jun-2001/carnationswet.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Jun-2001/carnationswet.jpg

oh dear, did i send it twice:o

Javier
06-25-2001, 11:56 AM
Had to answer your posting so that you would know that you made the trip. Good Job. And yes you posted your painting twice, but that's no big problem.

About the only comment that I am qualified to make is that it would be nice if you would tell us the medium, size, and paper.

The carnations look fine to me and I really like the way you have arranged them. It is a very nice painting and one you can be proud of .

BTW, maybe it is finished.

The Best,

j

carly
06-25-2001, 01:03 PM
My question is...how do you define a finished painting?

Do you feel that all of your works have an unfinished feel because they are more like studies of the subject?

My comment on this painting is...a well defined subject, simplicity in style and color, would look wonderful matted in an oval and framed. If you want to take the subject further, put the flowers in a vase on a table with a simple cloth beneath it and tell more of the story. By adding another element to the subject, you expand your ideas.
carly

MissMouse
06-25-2001, 09:40 PM
Hi and welcome, I like your painting the way it is, especially the unfinished stem. if you want you might add a wash of color in the background. picking up one of the flower colors. But that is just my eye speaking.....

RuthT
06-26-2001, 02:30 PM
Thank you all for your encouraging remarks and suggestions. Following these I am beginning to think that perhaps it is finished; on reflection there is not anything more that I want to say with it.