PDA

View Full Version : Debating whether to take workshop with Elizabeth Mowry

lirael2008
07-31-2013, 04:40 AM
Hello...I'm a beginner with pastels (and painting/art in general). I saw that my local pastel organization is hosting a workshop with Elizabeth Mowry in October. I'm interested in attending, but debating whether it would be wise to do so.

I've read that Ms. Mowry is an excellent and gentle teacher, which makes me excited to learn from her. Although I prefer urban landscapes and portraits to the bucolic landscapes she seems to favor, I believe there is much I can learn from watching her approach painting...it sounds like she does extensive demos.

On the other hand, I'm wondering if it would be better to wait until I've developed my understanding of art/painting/pastels more. It's a significant investment at $400 for class tuition plus airfare, and using vacation leave from work.

I guess my bottom line question is, At what point do you think it's worthwhile to take one's first serious pastel workshop? Even if I'm a beginner, I'm sure I can pick up a lot by watching others and it would be nice to meet other pastel lovers! But I don't want to waste this investment of time and money if most of the teaching would be way over my head.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Colorix
07-31-2013, 10:11 AM
Doesn't she have a video or two? You could watch them, and then decide if you think it is worth the investment. The F+W have them, Artistsnetwork.tv, link at the top of the WC site.

Generally, a workshop is beneficial at any stage. You get personal help, but you also learn a lot from what the instructor tell others. There's usually a demo, and some lectures. Trying out stuff. And then there's painting, where the instructor helps you when you need it.

Some of it may be over one's head, but it tends to stick in the mind, and then a year later one realizes: "So that's what she was talking about, I get it now."

Davkin
07-31-2013, 10:55 AM