PDA

View Full Version : Limiting palette

Mettaphorica
07-24-2013, 06:29 AM
Hi all
I'm fairly new to pastels and art in general, about 2 years. I play with many different mediums, so I suppose it's possible that my question is related to the fact that I probably don't know any particular medium well enough to judge. However, here is my issue:
Whenever I go to paint a picture (animals, mostly) I wind up with heaps of pastels in front of me. Yet when I see how few colours other people use and yet still achieve range of value and hue, and stunningly realistic results (eg Lesley Harrison) I am astonished. I'm aware that 'less is more' and that a limited palette can be more visually appealing, but how do I do this?

When I begin a picture, I select what I 'think' I'll need, but because I'm not entirely sure (this may be the familarity thing coming in), I'll choose, say, 4 light greys instead of maybe one or two. I seem to to do this for just about every colour or value I see in the source pic. and then wind up with 20 or even many more in front of me. All for animal fur!

It makes for disorganised painting, yet I still achieve my result in the end, it just seems like using all these pastels makes it longer to get there.

How do artists know what to choose, and then able to choose so few? I think I am second-guessing myself with each choice, maybe that's the problem?

How do I limit my palette -and do I really need to or this just me being a bit of a prima donna artiste who happened to read somewhere that a limited palette is better? Or will the ability to use fewer pastels come naturally with time when I am more familiar with my pastels and what each one looks like alone/in combination etc?

thanks
cheers
Donna

DAK723
07-24-2013, 08:48 AM