PDA

View Full Version : What and how many mediums did you try before pastels?

Christinal
07-14-2013, 12:12 PM
I fiddled with watercolors first, oils next, then acrylics before I found pastels. Not that I ever did much with any of it. I'm a rank beginner. As a beginner I naturally find painting to be incredibly frustrating to learn but I'm so delighted with pastels I can't stay away no matter how frustrated I get. :heart: :heart::heart:

I never paid much attention to pastels due to seeing nothing but portrait lessons with pastels in so many craft stores. I thought that's what pastels were for and I wasn't at all interested. I don't know why I came to that conclusion but I did. For decades! :cool:

elisehbeck
07-14-2013, 01:05 PM
Hi Christinal,

I sketched with graphite and coloured pencils as a child (in my school classes) then with biros in my highschool classes. Then I tried acrylic, oil, and watercolour. I even took a class in pottery. I love oils, hate watercolour, and would love to get into pottery more but not for the same reasons as oil & pastel - I just enjoy the physical process of clay. I have recently moved into pastels - initially I thought I would buy some cheap ones and use them to make studies and thumbnails in preparation for my oil paintings, but instead I have found them fascinating in their own right and I'm now hooked.

Painting is less frustrating if you get the right instruction. None of this 'express yourself' stuff - you need sensible help on mixing colours, getting shapes, and other practical things. Drawing well is a big part of painting, too, and teachers and experts often say no matter what medium you prefer, you should practice sketching every day.

best wishes for your explorations
Elise

robertsloan2
07-14-2013, 02:55 PM