PDA

View Full Version : Forgetmenot Ridge

CanvasSky
07-04-2013, 05:38 PM
...which makes it hard to photograph without some of the knife strokes picking up glare from somewhere. Sorry about that!

I was working from this photo I took out in the Bragg Creek area before the southern Alberta floods.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Jul-2013/1206405-critique_request.jpg
I worked it up in acrylics on an 18" x 24" gallery wrapped canvas.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Jul-2013/1206405-critique_request_2.jpg
The brighter colors in the foreground are intentional, for the most part.

As you can tell in the original, I was standing on a hillside, higher up than either the highway or the leafy trees in the middle ground. Is there anything I can do to make the grassy area in the foreground read more this way, and add depth?

This is my first time using the critique forums, so please be gentle!

rossmarie
07-04-2013, 07:11 PM
Hello CanvasSky. Welcome!

I think your sky is very good. The background mountain also - perhaps slightly darker in tone would have been better.

Where I feel your colours are a little off is in the middle distance where the evergreen trees on the mountain slopes are the wrong, and too bright a green. With distance, you tend to lose colour intensity. I also feel the trees in front of the evergreens are too "green" - think you need to get a bit of red into your green mix to "brown" them off a tad.

The foreground in your photo ref shows a definite slope which I think would have come over better in the painting if you had used paint strokes parallel with the slope instead of vertical strokes. To my mind the foreground could have been treated more simply with the occasional shrub or small tree. Your strongest tones need to be in the foreground to achieve a sense of depth and distance.

It is a nice painting - just think some thought is needed on colours and intensities as distance increases from the eye.

Mike :thumbsup: :wave: