PDA

View Full Version : Indian yellow substitute

LunarMoth
06-28-2013, 11:12 PM
When I first started exploring colors in watercolor about a year ago, I started off with cad lemon and naples yellow deep for my warm and cool yellows. But then I tried Indian yellow and I really liked it because it mixes lovely clean colors. My problem with it is that it stains and won't lift. So now I'm looking for a replacement color, and I'm not sure what would be my best choice?
New gamboge, cadmium yellow deep, yellow orche or some other yellow shade? As a relative newbie, I am very confused as to what would be the yellow I am searching for?:confused:
Anyone have any sugestions for me?

D'Lady
06-29-2013, 12:03 AM
I like New Gamboge, but it's in short supply now. I've been looking at azo yellow and benzi-something-yellow as possible substitutes, but don't know yet, so I'll keep an eye on this thread. :)

Undergoose
06-29-2013, 12:55 AM
My favorite yellow by far is benzimidazolone yellow. It's a great medium yellow that mixes well and really pops in both green and brown mixes. I use it with pyrrole red to make the full range of oranges.

Most brands have some flavor of it, and I've seen pigment indexes between PY151 and PY154 for sure. There may be more, as well.

diamondsutra
06-29-2013, 07:38 AM
If you like the color and want to use it .. my advice is to avoid having to lift in the future ;)

CharM
06-29-2013, 08:14 AM
Hiya... I really have to agree (mostly) with Josh... there will be occasions when you'll want to lift a highlight, though, and it could be problematic.

Who manufactures your Indian Yellow? They're not all created equal.

Holdbein's is a "hue" - PY83+PY95
DaVinci - PY97+PO62
Daniel Smith - PY108
M. Graham - PY110
Daler Rowney, Sennelier, Utrecht - PY153
Winsor & Newton - PY153+PO62
Rembrandt - PY154+PO48