PDA

View Full Version : Achieving flesh tones with pastels?

omgthatsfun
06-21-2013, 12:06 PM
Hellooooo wetcanvas! I've been lurking the forums for some time and its exciting to finally join and post :)

I have a bit of a newbie problem. I usually use watercolors but decided that I really wanted to try out pastels and bought a 24 pc set from Faber Castell yesterday. There was also a little set of pastels for portraits but I decided against buying them. Do you guys think its best to also have a set for portraits? Because I'm having a real hard time figuring out skin tones, especially medium-dark flesh. A lot of the tutorials I've found are mostly for portraits of white people. What I'm looking for is how to get a nice medium flesh tone out of my pastels. I'm really really struggling with it. I'm also self taught so there may be something obvious that I just haven't thought of yet so please give me any advice!

If it would help, I can post photos of what pastel colors I have/ my attempted sketch/ what color I'm going for.

allydoodle
06-21-2013, 12:17 PM
Hellooooo wetcanvas! I've been lurking the forums for some time and its exciting to finally join and post :)

I have a bit of a newbie problem. I usually use watercolors but decided that I really wanted to try out pastels and bought a 24 pc set from Faber Castell yesterday. There was also a little set of pastels for portraits but I decided against buying them. Do you guys think its best to also have a set for portraits? Because I'm having a real hard time figuring out skin tones, especially medium-dark flesh. A lot of the tutorials I've found are mostly for portraits of white people. What I'm looking for is how to get a nice medium flesh tone out of my pastels. I'm really really struggling with it. I'm also self taught so there may be something obvious that I just haven't thought of yet so please give me any advice!