PDA

View Full Version : Landscape wip

Ulvinnen
06-17-2013, 09:10 AM
I am a total newbie and I have come this far With a watercolor background which I like very much ( it gives me desert Vibes) but can you please help me how to proceed? I am stuck and afraid to ruin anything and need ideas.

reikiart
06-17-2013, 10:10 AM
I like the colors you've got going on...you are right, it does feel sort of "desert" like...at this stage you could just pick out an define a few details...here's a thread that might be helpful (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=324093), it shows how to create a wash and then pick out details.
Welcome to the forum, by the way. Make sure to check out the Watercolor Handbook in the Learning Zone (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=310721)...lots of demos and tutorials there.
And try not to worry so much about ruining something....every painting is a learning experience!

pjartwc
06-18-2013, 05:33 AM
Welcome to the watercolor forum. What a beautiful start. Yes it does look like a dessert scene. What I would suggest is to print a few copies of your painting and then draw and paint a few objects right on your printed copies. You won't damage your original and you will get a good idea of where you want to go. For example: I can see a few cactus's of different heights on the left side of the painting and perhaps one on the right. I hope you post your completed painting.

bigskycountry
06-18-2013, 01:00 PM