PDA

View Full Version : How much would you say you have spend on watercolor pan/tubes alone?

Phthalocyanine
06-15-2013, 03:41 PM
Over the course of your interest in it? Not including papers, tapes/staples, etc...

virgil carter
06-15-2013, 04:30 PM
I just priced a purchase of 16 37ml tubes of American Journey paint from Cheap Joes. It was just under $200.

How much over a lifetime? Who can say?

FWIW, the larger the tube the cheaper the price per ml.

Sling paint,
Virgil

WthrLady
06-15-2013, 05:28 PM
I stagger at the thought, and the total.

Brindle
06-15-2013, 08:57 PM
What Caryl said. Easily approaching $1,000 USD just for paint since I started painting in watercolors in 2010. Not that I NEEDED to buy that much but I wanted to explore a lot of brands and colors in my quest to "settle" on a personal palette. It so happened that I could afford it in bits and pieces, especially taking advantage of online coupons or gift certificates (hubby is well-trained by now!). Some of the paints I bought I ended up not caring for and those got passed onto friends.

CharM
06-15-2013, 09:51 PM
I'm sure there's quite a bit of money tied up in my collection of tubes.

I did buy my first two sets of tubes on ebay and got them for a pittance. But, I paint enough that I actually use up colours... and then, there's those new colours that I simply must try... :)

But, I don't feel in the least guilty. I don't drink, smoke or buy lots of clothes and shoes... We don't eat out much... Painting is my happy retirement!

Antiqueteacher
06-15-2013, 10:26 PM
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Did my DH put you up to this question??? :confused: :lol: :lol:

If Daniel Smith ever needs any extra paints, he always calls me. . .:angel: :lol:
(I have been known to use them up, too.)

Katherine :music: :music:

M.L. Schaefer
06-16-2013, 02:15 PM