PDA

View Full Version : WIP-landscape by a noobie

crafor
06-13-2013, 12:02 PM
This is my first time posting here, my first w/c landscape. I know little to nothing about w/c, and am learning a little. I became interested because of interest in plein air. I have been taking w/c crayons, pencils, and pans outside to paint. A goal for plein air is recognizable realism, and am using w/c both for studies and sketches now. After I learn how, probably for finished work. Not doing well outside, this one is imagination
Since it all needs help any thing that anyone says will be helpful and appreciated.
Goal for this one was linear and atmospheric perspective. Particularly interested in comments re the fore and middle ground.
Thanks,
Ella
6x9" on w/c paper
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/13-Jun-2013/978289-P6110441.JPG

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/13-Jun-2013/978289-P6110450.JPG

Robola
06-13-2013, 12:31 PM
Hi Ella,
I'm new to this, as well, and have yet to post any work. I'm still working out issues re: paper, masking, layering... I like your linear perspective work with the tree heights and the atmospheric work looks good, too. I have issues with detail in my foregrounds but have recently seen work by an artist who deliberately kept hers vague to move the viewer to her point of interest which was more in the middle ground. Looking at your first picture it was hard to know what to look for without knowing what you're trying to get us to see. At least it was, until you put in your wonderfully scraggly trees we see in your second shot. I like their mysterious nature and feel like they're kind of interlopers in the scene. Very cool.
Rob

M.L. Schaefer
06-13-2013, 02:09 PM