PDA

View Full Version : Nude Study

Carlsen Highway
05-22-2013, 06:07 PM
Intended as an exercise done from life , in the figure, light and chiaroscuro, but I still wanted it to work as a picture.
Its a simple idea but I am not sure if its too simple to work as a painting

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c271/Carlsen/nudestudyfinal002_zps84e7786e.jpg

Andrewcody
05-22-2013, 09:29 PM
A reference would be helpful to determine if your dimensions are true, plus the weight of the model on the stool.

Carlsen Highway
05-22-2013, 09:39 PM
It was done from life so I have nothing other than the main drawing, which is the same.
The weight of the model? I could guess I suppose. Two labradors worth? I am not good with weights.

Andrewcody
05-22-2013, 09:44 PM
I meant how she sits on the stool and how her weight is distributed.

Carlsen Highway
05-23-2013, 01:06 AM
Ah. Absent a photo to compare it to, do the dimensions look incorrect to your eye?

Andrewcody
05-23-2013, 02:06 AM
Yes, she is leaning on her left cheek
Which from experience would tend to cause some discomfort
After a short period of time

Carlsen Highway
05-23-2013, 03:25 AM
Maybe that should be the title

Andrewcody
05-27-2013, 08:00 PM
Maybe

Or next time have her face you
Makes for a more interesting study

Debzy
05-27-2013, 10:37 PM
I've never tried a nude study or a portrait from life so I'm not experienced enough to advise or critique. I think you have done a wonderful job. And I love the light and shade. I like the warm colours and simplicity. That's just my opinion, as I say I'm no expert. Cheers =)) Debs.

InTheWoods
07-06-2013, 02:27 AM
What a funny post!
I'm a beginner, but i see so much light on her shoulders, shouldn't it hit her face a little more? ...What is the size? I like all the different colors on the highlights/shadows

thevaliantx
07-19-2013, 06:43 PM