PDA

View Full Version : Cape Cod Cove - C&C please.

pastel lover
05-11-2013, 10:39 PM
Hello All,

This is one I just finished from another of my Cape Cod, MA ref. pics. I need help from all you landscape painters out there. Something is bothering me about this but I don't know what. Do I need more darks in trees or is the left bank too bright or something else all together? Please let me know what you see that is wrong. I really appreciate it. (Note: the bank is not near that dark IRL.) Oh, and if anyone can think of better name, please let me know! Thanks for looking & any thoughts or comments you have. I really appreciate it. 9x12ish on AS, mostly GA & a few pencils.

Tanjahttp://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-May-2013/134540-IMG_4396.JPG

pastel65
05-11-2013, 10:55 PM
Well I like it very much and the colors are beautiful. I am far from an expert on pastels but one of my paintings I was working on in a pastel class bothered me so all the students looked and the one thing they all picked up was the main tree (pt of interest) was dead center. I think you may have the same thing bothering you here. Did I move the tree? No I cropped the picture (it wasn't my favorite and I did like it cropped with my main tree off towards one side.). Pam

pastel lover
05-11-2013, 11:19 PM
Hi Pam,

Thank you for your thoughts and you could well be right. I have considered bring the BG trees on left over to visually connect with the large tree. I don't think I like the negative of sky in that area. Truth is, I have looked at it way too long. And to make things more confusing, it looks totally different - like a different painting - when the light changes. I have never done one that changes so much. However, I think I will play around with photoshop & see if a crop will help. Thank you very much.

Tanja

twiglet
05-12-2013, 02:55 AM