PDA

View Full Version : Colours of a storm

Jaydub
05-10-2013, 07:20 AM
Acrylic on 10 x 8 canvas, and supposed to be in the Open Critique forum. Sorry mods, can you move me again, it just won't let me post there no matter which method I try. And I hope I'm not being too much of a hog, only one more thread to go from me after this one, promise.

This is inspired from a photo I took of the amazing light around me in the build-up to a storm. The greens have photographed a bit brighter than they are in real life, including the bottom left which is quite a bit darker than it looks here. I'm a total beginner so get specific, even brutal if need be :) This is a potential re-do on a bigger scale...maybe...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/10-May-2013/1171112-03.JPG

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/10-May-2013/1171112-yallingup_magic.jpg

Dana Design
05-10-2013, 11:40 AM
You've painted the trees quite solidly but in viewing the photo, you can see the "skyholes" through the trees. That's important to give it a sense of reality. You could also try overlapping the brush on the right side of the path.

Other than that, I think you've done very well on this!

Jaydub
05-12-2013, 04:43 AM
Thanks for your advice Dana. I've added sky holes as suggested, but didn't alter the brush on the right, I've played around in that corner so much already that I'm scared to touch it again. Maybe I'll tackle that part some time I'm feeling braver.

I also changed the shadows a bit, altered the two tallest trees on the right, and blurred the plants where the path disappears around the corner. The colours look more realistic in this photo.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-May-2013/1171112-007.JPG

rossmarie
05-12-2013, 05:20 AM