PDA

View Full Version : Joseph Zbukvic sketchbook

lollie33
05-08-2013, 10:20 PM
Hello everyone. I am new to Wet Canvas and am getting back into drawing and watercolor after years away.
I am looking for a good sketchbook that handles pencil as well as watercolor well. I was wondering if anyone who has been to one of his workshops knows what kind of sketchbook Joseph Zbukvic uses because they appear to handle both well.
Thanks
Laurie

janinco
05-09-2013, 01:55 AM
Here's a link with a picture...maybe someone will recognize the brand:
http://www.artistsnetwork.com/watercolor-artist/zbukvic-sketchbook

Jan

Quinacridone Gold
05-09-2013, 03:10 AM
Stillman and Birn make sketchbooks with ivory paper - it could be that. There are many different types - Alpha, Beta, Gamma etc. The heaviest are designed to take heavy applications of watercolour or mixed media and come in white and ivory. I think they are 300gsm or maybe 280 - a good weight though. They are Beta and... Delta perhaps? Anyway - a nice range of sketchbooks for watercolour. Good range of sizes, shapes and spiral or bound. I bought a square spiral Beta...

Andrew
05-09-2013, 04:54 AM
I can't tell from that photo. Perhaps you could go to Joseph Zbukvic's webpage, drop him a line and ask. Or if he has a workshop listing, there is a supply list that could provide the information.

On of my favorite watercolourists David Lyle Millard, used the Aquabee Super Deluxe (maroon cover). And it has become one of my favorites, especially when out with watercolours. I also like the Global Art Handmade Watercolour sketchbooks. It is very heavy and rough paper, but I can keep layering and lifting until I am happy, not worry too much about bleeding through.

Andrew

virgil carter
05-09-2013, 09:06 AM
The issue for sketch books is that "sketching" is a dry medium (pencils, charcoal, pastels, etc.), while painting (or even sketching with paints) is a wet medium (watercolor paints, pens, etc.).