PDA

View Full Version : suggestions for background?

Dea
05-06-2013, 08:50 PM
Hi everyone,
My daughter has wanted me to paint a picture of tigers for her for ages, I've had this picture from the image library so long I can't remember who's it is but thanks anyway:thumbsup:
Has anyone got any suggestions for the background?
I have played around with it a bit colour wise but I'm not sure what to put there, the colours are more saturated in the photo than real life
Deanna
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/06-May-2013/40985-IMG_0521.jpg

pastel65
05-06-2013, 09:09 PM
Very nice painting. I am not good with backgrounds myself but really like the darker area around the Tiger on the right with the darker blue and green and wonder if perhaps the entire background should be like that with perhaps a few punches of the lighter color near your center of interest to focus the viewer on the tigers. There are so many talented painters on WC and I am sure you will get some great suggestions. (just reviewed this - I guess run on sentences are my talent :lol: ) Pam

pastel lover
05-07-2013, 12:03 AM
Personally, I like what you have here with maybe a few more dark greens & a few dashes of the tiger color thrown in. One thing I did notice, if you crop the top down to where the darker blue almost touches the edge, it really emphasizes the tigers. Maybe because the BG to tiger ratio is a little better or maybe the composition is slightly better. I don't know why but take a look & see what you think. Very nice painting, by the way.

Tanja

allydoodle
05-07-2013, 12:15 AM