PDA

View Full Version : My attempt at Pavonia by Frederick Leighton's

Natter
05-06-2013, 05:18 AM
Hey all I'm a newbie here and self taught,
I've started back into oil painting again after a break (usually I'm a digital artist, so I don't get the time... And get spoilt with the undo and zoom button;p

The painting is in early stages yet, I'm just doing the great scale first and plan to use glazes to get the colour

However I'm self taught, so worry that ill do this incorrectly, as know if I do this wrong it will crack

I have several paintings I started from a few weeks ago, I like to do this for practice, I've noticed my brush work improving each time, with the last attempt being the best likeness, you can view them here and comment if you like on hoe you would proceed

The blog is like my work book documenting the attemps, and what I did for later reference.
http://draw-paint-dream.blogspot.ch/

Thanks
Natalie

Natter
05-06-2013, 07:57 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/06-May-2013/1235678-image.jpg

I have three of the same painting I'm working on
( I find the practice does me good, and it lets me see other approaches
And lets me test and not get too worried about mistakes)

So this is the second version of this painting, I've just put the skin colour on,

The other two are drying at the moment... So will have to find something else to paint ;p as I hate waiting for paint to dry ;p

maryinasia
05-06-2013, 08:21 AM
beautiful

Natter
05-06-2013, 08:37 AM
Thanks maryinasia :) still lots to do but the encouragement helps :)

birdhs
05-06-2013, 11:16 AM
Very nice work.

Perhaps use a dry medium while you are waiting for these to dry, always a good way to expand your talents, then you can compare a graphite version with a pastel or color pencil.
thanx 4 sharing these

greggo

Dana Design
05-06-2013, 11:20 AM
Looking absolutely beautiful! There's no shortage of talent here!

Nathalie Chavieve
05-06-2013, 03:34 PM