PDA

View Full Version : Santorini - C&C please

dkcrooby
05-04-2013, 12:35 PM
Hi. I have a dilemma. I'm not happy with the side of the mountain to the left of the drawing (not the little bit in the background). I'm really struggling to get the detail but my husband says I should just leave it now as it looks finished. That I'm the only one who will notice it. I'd like to know what all you lovely people think because I think it needs more work.

Thank you! Oh, and please be honest. :-)

twiglet
05-04-2013, 01:08 PM
If your not happy with it then you need to make adjustments. It is a lovely painting but for me I totally agree with you. I'm no expert but looks a little flat to me. You've got some great shadow's in the background mountain, maybe applying the same is all that is needed, especially to the bottom part. Hope I've helped

raxu
05-04-2013, 01:51 PM
... and I thought this is the reference photo..........
Simply fantastic. I am a newbie, have no critics or advice, just my pure admiration!

chuas2
05-04-2013, 02:52 PM
Hi there,
I think this is a fantastic painting! Beautiful...no crit from me!!
Kris

friesin
05-04-2013, 03:06 PM
at first glance I also thought this was the ref photo :)

If you are not content with the left mountain you should work it over a little bit: a few more shadows and sharper lines would make it perfect ;)

water girl
05-04-2013, 03:46 PM
I agree about thinking it was your reference. friesin has made a point about a few sharper lines, etc., just go slowly.

sketchZ1ol
05-04-2013, 03:51 PM
hello
a tough call because the buildings and terrain in front of the water all work together
but the further terrain has strong colour and crispness ...
> that may be how your ref pix looks , if you are using one , but
the strength of value/colour seems reversed ... :confused:

it might be safe enough to lift pigment off of the far terrain by daubing/tapping with
a tissue , cotton swab , kneaded eraser or other gentle material -