PDA

View Full Version : Watercolor Pencils Information

adigal
05-02-2013, 10:34 AM
Hi all,
I am not sure where to put this, so I decided to put it here. I just got some watercolor pencils so I can use them anywhere, and also because I am a loosey-goosey painter, and need some more details, and this is good for me. I have a few questions. The ones I got are the Fantasia brand - they don't seem to have very rich color when I wet them. They fade a lot. What are some good brands?

Also, does anyone know of any good tutorials here that teach how to use these? I was poking around for a while the other day, and didn't really find anything, so I thought maybe one of you would know something good. Oh, and also, how do you sharpen these? Thanks!!

Gorgeous here in upstate NY - maybe I can get out for some plein air painting this weekend!!! Hope you all have a great weekend!
Nancy

D'Lady
05-02-2013, 04:48 PM
I love the Derwent line. I have a small tin of their w/c pencils, and a larger (24, I think) tin of the Inktense, and I really enjoy using them.

But...I don't think they're very lightfast.

ETA: I use a regular pencil sharpener. I guess if you'd like you can use a knife and save the shavings to make a small amount of "paint" with them, but I've never tried it.

CharM
05-02-2013, 05:46 PM
I have a nice set of Faber-Castell Albrecht Durer pencils. For some reason, I really cannot get deep, saturated colour from them. I haven't tested them for lightfastness, either. I do use them occasionally for fine details, but really don't paint with them.

Quinacridone Gold
05-02-2013, 06:10 PM
Snap again Char! Albrecht Durer are my favourite and I have a beautiful wooden box of 80, Derwent second, because the colours in each are 'real world' colours. I checked their websites ages ago and the lightfast ratings are pretty good all round for the Durer, unlike some.
I do quite like some of the dark inktense ones too - but you have to watch the lightfast ratings.