PDA

View Full Version : Help with background please

DashaK
04-04-2013, 10:59 AM
Good morning:
I am new to watercolor painting.
This is one of my first paintings and I am stuck with background.
These are my favorite items in the morning: a coffee pot, coffee cups and two slices of cheese.
The orangish color is my attempt to represent my kitchen wall color "guava juice". Not quite what it is in real life, and I am open to artistic interpretations of the wall.
The table : I tried to find the complementary color to the wall, tried cerulean blue and it was horrible. This color is the result of adding some prussian blue and ultramarine blue on top.
All looks too childish and plain to me, though better than original version with cerulean blue.
Could you suggest how to improve the background please? Coffee cups will be white and grayish white.

The photo is taken with my iPad, paints are Royal and Langernickel and paper is cheap watercolor store brand 90 lbs.
Sorry for those poor supplies, but I am away from home on extended business trip. Better supplies are waiting for me at home...

Thank you so much for your help.

Yorky
04-04-2013, 11:42 AM
I don't think the background needs anything. The arrangement will take shape when you add shadows to the objects and on the table.

Looking good so far.

Welcome to the forum.

Doug

pjartwc
04-04-2013, 12:14 PM
Hi and welcome to the forum. Also a welcome to watercolor. You have a great start. The coffee pot is great. I agree that Cerulean Blue would not work for the background. The complementary orange is an excellent choice. At this point I wouldn't do too much more with the background until you are finished with the objects. If the cups are to be whitish, try to use a little bit of a very light value of blue and/or a little orange in their shadow area.