PDA

View Full Version : Permissions

CanvasSky
03-28-2013, 05:25 PM
This might be a silly question...but I'm pretty new to this!

Most of my output has been landscapes, and my few aviation-related pieces so far have been imagined scenes of aircraft that don't actually exist. Recognizable models, mind you, like a Pitts Special or a Cessna 195, but the individual plane is fictitious.

However, I'm thinking of doing (and hopefully selling) some paintings of individual aircraft that really do exist, belong to real people or organizations, and are fairly recognizable. Do I need permission for this?

(I haven't seen many paintings of the Canadian Forces Snowbirds, and I wonder if this may be why...)

Chas McHugh
03-28-2013, 05:50 PM
The only thing to worry about is when an airframe is supporting advertising rights, as the advertising agencies get very grumpy when someone borrows their property. This is why the motoring art world is not overwhelmed with contemporary motorsport paintings. Therefore if you were to paint an air racing scene inclusive of sponsorship signage, you will get people on your case that are unlikely to be the owner.

Lockheed have tried to have their airframe images copyrighted, but I understand a legal case against model manafacturers came to nothing.

If you depicted an aeroplane that was inclusive of a logo, for example a P&W engine or Rolls Royce logo, you are more likely to get earache about that then the aircraft owner.

The owners are often traceable. In the UK we have the G INFO website that lists owners and I am sure the FAA have similar in the US, so the owners consent can be asked in advance, and if refused, go for the same shape in an alternative colour scheme.

In summary, I would avoid sponsorship decals but otherwise paint what you will.

Shamrock15
03-28-2013, 07:21 PM