PDA

View Full Version : Palette advice?

dlwilliams48
03-19-2013, 08:31 AM
I am a relative beginner to watercolor, and have been using a "student" grade palette tray made of plastic. It has 8 rectangular mixing wells, 8 small color wells, and 4 shallow, round wells. However, it has become increasingly stained, and I have been looking at a porcelain palette. The one I am looking at has 17 paint wells and 2 large mixing areas. It is 9" x 12" which is comparable in size to what I am using, but there is a larger one (11" x 16") with 30 paint wells. These also come with a plastic top with mixing wells. I find that in most cases I have paint in all 8 of the mixing wells in my current palette, and wonder about only having 2 mixing areas. Do you typically clean the mixing area when going to another color, or have more than one mix or what? It appears to be easy to clean, but I wonder about cleaning one mix before starting another. Any thoughts or guidance? I do like the thought of having a porcelain palette that doesn't stain.

virgil carter
03-19-2013, 09:03 AM
Don, your questions are good ones; thanks for posting. I suspect you will find responses which indicate that the type, size, material of palettes are highly personal. For example, size depends on whether you paint in the studio (larger size) or plein air (smaller, hand-held size), or both (2 palettes).

Size depends on the brush size you commonly use, which, in turn, depends on the size paintings you typically paint. Large paintings generally require large brushes. Large brushes require large wells. The hip bone is connected to the femur...!

Staining is an issue that bothers some and doesn't bother others. I've always painted on plastic palettes of one sort or another. The John Pike is probably my all-time, long-term favorite, since it comes in two versions with big wells and bigger wells; it's made of extremely durable plastic material and will last a life-time, given proper care and respect.