PDA

View Full Version : "First Cut" - c&c welcome

pastel lover
03-15-2013, 07:09 PM
Hi Everyone,

Here is one I tried after watching a Stephanie Birdsall video. I don't think I quite got her technique, mine isn't loose at all. This is a first try at hay bales & I'm not good at landscapes so I would appreciate your C&C's. Also the flecks of bright blue are only visible in the photo - not in the painting. The blue shows up in all my photos & I can't seem to edit it out. Sorry. Thanks for looking.

Tanja

Davkin
03-15-2013, 08:22 PM
I have that video as well, I highly recommend it. You may not have come out as loose as Stephanie Birdsall but you did make a great painting, I like it a lot. It just feels good to look at it.

David

Dougwas
03-15-2013, 08:28 PM
You did a good job for your first attempt at hay bales. They have good shape and form. I have seen others use violets, red violets and orange in their bales. Your painting has great depth to it. Have fun with those bales.

Doug

pastel65
03-15-2013, 08:47 PM
Beautiful. It definitely shows depth. The only thing I would debate removing or perhaps darkening is the little bale to the right of the large one or perhaps removing both of the little ones to the right of that large one. Not familiar at all with video and the artist may have these in there. Just my non-professional thoughts. I know my pastel teacher would make me put a "sparkle" near the center of interest. Pam

Jayde
03-16-2013, 12:03 AM
This turned out quite lovely. I agree with Pam re removing the small bales on the right.

pastel lover
03-16-2013, 01:09 AM
Hello Everyone,

Thank you all for your kind & encouraging comments. I really appreciate it.

David - thank you & yes, it really is a good video. Thank you for your comments on my painting.
Doug - Thank you and although you can see it in the photo, I used violet, dark red & blue in the shadow of bales. Now I wish I had used more but tooth is full.