PDA

View Full Version : winsor & newton artisan paints

montellanero
06-23-2001, 05:22 AM
I am very new to wet canvas and I have noticed a few comments about water mixable oil paints. It appears that there is a very strong dislike for them. I am currently setting up a new studio and I unfortunately cannot use the same solvents that I have been accustomed to in the past. I am considering the use of the Winsor & Newton Artisan water mixable oil paints due to the restrictions I have with traditional solvents. Has anyone used this line of paints to provide first hand knowledge of their quality or lack there of? I would like to have some feed back if anyone has used this line of paints. Mark.

Patrick1
06-23-2001, 06:22 AM
Mark, I use Winsor & Newton Artisan and Grumbacher MAX (also water-soluble). Here's what I've noticed:

-Artisan is inexpensive. But they seem to have somewhat of a gluey consistency. And they seem to not be very heavily pigmented. But generally, most tubes I've tired seem to have similar consistency...generally a little thicker than MAX
oils. But I find Artisan oils often have a slight fishy smell (literally) to them.

-MAX is more expensive. They definitely have a less glue-like, more buttery, consistency. And they definitely look more heavily pigmented (somewhat deeper, stronger colors). But the thing I don't like about MAX is that they are usually oilier and thinner than Artisan. Also, I've found quite a difference in consistency of MAX oils...For example,my MAX raw umber is very thick, my old titanium white was medium, my new one is thinner and oilier. My dioxazine purple is thin and oily. Most other MAX colors of mine are somewhat oily.

One more big difference: I took one brush loaded with Artisan paints, and held it under running water. Did the same with a brush loaded with MAX
paints. With Artisan, only a small amount of paint