PDA

View Full Version : Oils on sawblades?

gcindy6
06-22-2001, 10:17 PM
Hi all! I'm new to this so hope I'm doing everything correctly. Anyway, if you can read this I must be o.k.
Although I have worked with acrylics, I am most comfortable with oil painting. Someone wants me to do their house on a sawblade. They are currently having the blade sanded & primed (I have no idea what kind of primer they will use). Then we are off to photograph the place & I can start painting. I'm wondering if anyone has any tips or hints on painting on sawblades. And while I am picking brains, how about gourds? Just did a few of them (I used acrylics on these) & plan to varnish when finished. I'm trying to get a variety of things done before the fall festivals get here. I'm going to try & attend 3-4 of them this year. And I want to have things there that I can charge less for than canvases. Any thoughts or ideas are welcome! See ya'll later!

scottb
06-23-2001, 09:28 AM
If I'm not mistaken, one of our long-time WC members is a sawblade painter.

Here is a link to his homepage:

http://www.ltesthetic.com/main.htm

He has a few online tutorials as well.

Cheers.
Scott

paintfool
06-23-2001, 12:20 PM
Wow! Great site Scott! Thanks.
Cheryl

TPS
06-23-2001, 02:22 PM
:clap: If you'll be doing festivals, keep in mind that many will not allow several media or types of items in one booth; such as you describe. Be sure to check on their rules before applying or sending money.

paintfool
06-23-2001, 04:40 PM
Good point David. I'm going to share this thread with the Tole and Decorative forum because they may know about this type of thing. :) Cindy, look for your topic there too.
Cheryl

gcindy6
06-23-2001, 06:29 PM
Scott
Thanks for the tip... truly a fantastic site & just what I needed, it looks like! Going back there to read it all, but after a glance I just had to thank you!

Cheryl
Thanks for the help...and I'll be checking out the tole/deco forum, too!

David