PDA

View Full Version : Matt board value pack

Lostjedi
02-16-2013, 04:44 PM
I was wondering if anyone uses Matt board for oil pastels? I picked up a cheap value pack of 50 8x10 remnants in assorted colors. For $3.99 I figured worst case I could use the with conte pencils for small life model sketches but they seam perfect for oil pastels. I'm new to oil pastels. Does anyone have experience using them on this surface? Do I need to coat them with anything like gesso or crushed marble to increase tooth?

:confused:

Flycatcher10
02-16-2013, 06:52 PM
Hi Lostjedi:

I have not used Matt Board, they only need to be heavy enough to accept clear gesso for tooth and you'll be good to go. If you are going to apply any medium support (turpentine, etc.) to make the Ops spread more easily I don't know if the matt board will be a good support in the end.

Doesn't hurt to try at least one by applying some Liquitex clear gesso to see how it reacts. My recommendation is to apply Liquetix clear gesso - this has a good mix of sand in it and gives a really nice tooth. Regular Liquitex gesso doesn't seem to have as much sand in the mix and as a result the tooth is not very good. Be sure to use the Liquitex clear gesso.

Some artists will use heavy card stock with OPs and it seems to handle well. So it all depends on how heavy the matt board is.

Lostjedi
02-16-2013, 10:50 PM
Thanks again Flycatcher. It is good to find a community like this where I can ask questions without feeling like the odd man out.

Flycatcher10
02-17-2013, 11:20 AM
You're welcome! This site has been invaluable to me, it's where I got the most incredible support, guidance and help - in just about every area w/re to oil pastels.

Don't hesitate to ask your questions, we all support each other on Wetcanvas it's what makes this artist online community the best out there.

Lostjedi
02-20-2013, 10:28 PM
Flycatcher, I took your advice and so far it looks good. :clap:

Here are a few pics of the process I used.