PDA

View Full Version : What Kind of Art Do You Buy and Why?

janinco
02-14-2013, 06:34 PM
When I worked as an artist rep (for sculptors) I was always intrigued by what motivated someone to buy a piece. These were some of my observations:

To preserve a memory of a pleasant experience (event, vacation, etc)

To remind you of a loved one (human or animal)

To fit in with a decor - not necessarily any emotional tie

To impress others - especially true if the artist is well-known

To make you laugh

To create a mood in a room

To make a statement about a cause you feel strongly about

To evoke emotion (negative or positive)

To keep as an investment

I often look at the award winners from various watercolor shows around the country and there are some stunning paintings that show up over and over and get rave reviews, but they never sell. They aren't necessarily something that you would hang in your living room. It reminds me of the old saying, "There's the kind of girl you date, and then there's the kind of girl you marry." So I guess certain creations are more for entertainment and that definitely has merit.

However I am interested in eventually selling most of my paintings, so I'm trying to figure out where to focus my energy. It seems that subjects which can create an emotional bond right away are more likely to sell. I'm just curious what you all have hanging in your homes.

Most of my collection of art is people or animals. There are a few landscapes and one really gorgeous poster made for the Telluride Bluegrass Festival. I can't afford a lot, but I do like art that keeps my attention over the years and doesn't just become a part of the wall.

Would love to hear your thoughts -

Jan

Lulu
02-15-2013, 12:04 AM
I've just bought an original from Ona! because I wanted it and loved it the moment she put it online! and now it's arrived I love it even more.:heart:

Ellen in Ont
02-15-2013, 08:39 AM