PDA

View Full Version : First time using gouache

jdon4
01-21-2013, 02:35 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Jan-2013/11051-001_600x420.jpg

Like quite a few people that are just getting aquainted with gouache,and after reading and then seeing the beautiful works of art by so many talented artists on WC, I bought some gouache paints.

This is a 5"x7" portrait of Ben, my cat, on a Canson 140 lb. watercolor sheet, using M. Graham Gouache paints.

I really like using gouache paints and will be experimenting more.
Critiques most welcome.

Thanks for looking.

Artist_by_Accident
01-22-2013, 05:36 AM
Wow, for someone who says they're new at gouache, this is remarkable. Are you usually a watercolorist? I haven't had time to really experiment with gouache but really like using it and think practice is the key to learning it.

jdon4
01-22-2013, 12:36 PM
Artist by Accident: I've been doing colored pencil for many years, and reading all I could on WC about gouache, thought I'd give it a try. Even read somewhere one can combine the two mediums.

Thanks for the compliment.

Deborah Secor
01-27-2013, 04:33 PM
Beautiful painting, Donna! You clearly know your way around composing, how to paint cats and those eyes! Wow.

I hope you'll join us over in the Gouache Corner in the Watercolor Studio. Here's a link to January's thread (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1302440). :wave:

jdon4
01-29-2013, 11:15 AM
Deborah Secor: Thank you for the very nice comment you made of my painting.

I went to your website, and am in awe of your paintings, and the way you demonstrate how-to-do some of those same paintings. Very Nice!

karenlee
02-01-2013, 10:42 AM
Gee you sure did great on your first gouache! I can hear Ben purring. The gouache was beautifully handled, especially at the top of his head; I don't think that could be done in watercolor, although you have a watercolor feel in your technique here. More cats! More gouache!

jdon4
02-02-2013, 02:17 PM