PDA

View Full Version : Would a photo journal belong here?

hobbyartist87
12-15-2012, 01:00 AM
The story of the art part of my life was that early in my childhood I would most watercolor with some colored pencil work, then as I got to know other media in high school, I dabbled in oil pastels a little bit and in 2010-2011 did a few soft pastel works. However, since getting into my thesis this summer, I went away from art and haven't really gotten back to it. This past week I've been thinking about getting back into art. I realize, however, that with the long breaks from art that I took (also took a break from art between freshman/sophomore year of high and after I graduated from my undergraduate program) I probably lost a lot of the skills that I previously had. On top of all this now when I sit down to draw or paint something more or less finished I don't have the same inspiration any more and nothing I've started lately has been something I was satisfied with as I would stop working on that piece before reaching the halfway point as it would seem really really bad to me (it looked like it was something a 5 year old drew). Since I've got a point and shoot camera for my birthday last year and some of the people from our church like to go take pictures of nearby parks, I've been thinking of going to photography with my camera and doing journaling that way.