PDA

View Full Version : my version of Girl with a Pearl Earring ... what do you think?

Karman
12-11-2012, 07:02 AM
Dear All,
I am an amateur artist. Just like many other artists, I am also inspired by Vermeer's Girl with a Pearl Earring. I took me so much times. I have corrected it again and again. I am not 100% happy with my outcome. But, anyway, there you go.

C&C's really welcomed.

Thank you so much for taking a look.
:)

Oil on canvas board
11" x 14"

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-Dec-2012/1144496-gwpe1.JPG

Best Regards,
Karman

sunlinden
12-14-2012, 04:02 PM
Disclaimer:I'm just a amateur to say the least and by no means a valid critique. Are you glazing? The face looks a bit on the flat side and doesn't seem to have enough color variation and a bit too pinkish. The eyes seem a bit off as well, especially her left one (a bit to round). The reason I'm commenting on this is because I will be attempting this as well this winter. There are several inspirations for doing so. First, it's a painting I always admired. Secondly, I watched the movie and got even more passionate about the painting. Third, I found a very good link in which the artist detailed the steps and came out with a fabulous result. Hope mine comes out half as good. I'm new to WetCanvas and it will not let me post the url, so here's an abbreviated version: penroseart.com/vermeer01.htm Regards, Dave

Ebowalker
12-21-2012, 01:06 AM
I can't comment because I'm a beginner, but they eyes are just so striking...I love it.

I am kind of debating whether or not to attempt this as a study portrait but replacing the face with my daughter's.

If you were attempting to duplicate, I'm sure others could comment better and more technical, but if you were attempting to make it your own beautiful painting, you succeeded.

evan3585
12-23-2012, 01:18 PM