PDA

View Full Version : Chicken Scratch: Journal of a Novice

Aimless
12-01-2012, 12:36 AM
When I bought a Canson Sketch book (9" x 12" 65lb) I never actually expected to use it for much. Now that it's about 20 pages in, most of which are I would prefer to shread, I figure why not start putting stuff up here.

I'm a beginner at drawing and painting. After reading a lot of posts the recommend the "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" book I picked it up and so far my drawing has improved quite a bit.

Most of my pages will be exercises from the book, but today's is not. I have some very ripe bananas that I could smell while trying to get into the zone and so I decided to try to draw them. I had some trouble trying to draw the letters on the sticker, so I grabbed something that looked like it might work ok with trying to draw negative space and has letters. So I added some tape. I tried to draw the shapes around the letters, but they still did not come out so well.

I felt a little adventurous so I decided to color the tape too!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Dec-2012/1114482-11-30-BannasAndTape.jpg

JTMB
12-01-2012, 02:15 AM
Welcome to the forum! Good start on the sketchbook. Hope to see more!

poochemio
12-01-2012, 02:37 AM
Good for you! A lot of us started with that book. The most important thing I ever did was to begin drawing every day, well one of the most important things, the other was to give myself permission to just do it and not judge the outcome. Progress comes with the doing, everyday, and you are well on your way.

jacquip
12-01-2012, 02:37 AM
Great to see you starting to post your sketches. I worked through "Drawing on the right side of the brain" many years ago and found it invaluable. Glad to see you venturing out on your own now. Well done. I look forward to seeing more.

RainySea
12-01-2012, 10:15 AM