PDA

View Full Version : Next steps?

roundhouse1
11-17-2012, 02:08 PM
Apologies, I'm a newbie. No training whatsoever. I'm wondering about next steps for this one. Feel like I should put in the background before doing the detail work on the figure or I'll wind up doing it twice. Good plan or dumb? She's standing on the beach in front of water. Any general tips on painting water would be greatly appreciated. Since her skintones are so warm, should I do the background warm also or cool it down so that she stands out? Thank you in advance.
Details: Water mixable oils on canvas board. 18 x 24.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Nov-2012/1119562-photo1.JPG

DebbieO
11-17-2012, 10:48 PM
Great start! I love her!

I don't have any rules on how to proceed. But I'm not all that experienced either. I don't follow the same process everytime but often I will get my main shapes roughly blocked in, then work on my focus in a bit more detail then move to the surrounding areas again and bring in more detail and repeat until I'm satisfied. I usually have to go back to my background and rework it more to make sure it fits and often my first try isn't quite it, so I wouldn't worry too much about having to go over it again because I think you need to be willing to do that if it needs it.

Sometimes it's hard to see how it will work until you have it in there roughly.

For water I don't have any tips other than just try to paint what you see!

Debzy
11-18-2012, 02:06 AM