PDA

View Full Version : Rough seas at Puerto de la Cruz

rossmarie
11-13-2012, 06:29 PM
This one, I admit, is a bit "rough around the edges" Painted on holiday on Tenerife. It was a very stormy day with a howling northerly wind. The sky was lurid with an evil green streak in it (more turquoise in my painting!) and a low sun had just peeped out behind me under the edge of dark cloud lighting up the waves in brilliant light.

Tried to capture the essence of it all......

Crits welcome - warts and all! (it's a watercolour about 14 x 10 in)

Mike

P.S. the white blobs along the cliff top indicate whitewashed houses perched precariously on the top....should have taken a bit more care with them.http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/13-Nov-2012/1111482-Rough_seas_at_Puerto_de_la_Cruz_Tenerife_re-sized.JPG

crafor
11-13-2012, 10:05 PM
Good forms, I think--but like I've said, I'm a beginner. On a stormy day, I'd think there'd be a lot of darks --grays, greens, blacks, blues, under the white. I think that there would be a lot of dark on the distant hillside, also.
Your water has a lot of movement. Add the colors to make it stormy.
Hope this helps.
Ella
who also has a hard time with darks:)

pjartwc
11-14-2012, 05:38 AM
Hi Mike, I took the liberty of brightening your painting up a bit. Love, love, love the water and the wave against the rock. The background and sky bother me. I see all the same diagonal lines. If you wanted the hills that way, perhaps make the sky angle flow the other direction. Perhaps a dark blue wash over the left side coming down toward the large rock. Also, don't know if you need the vertical rock at upper right. Draws too much attention.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/14-Nov-2012/116333-1111482-Rough_seas_at_Puerto_de_la_Cruz_Tenerife_re-sized.jpg

rossmarie
11-14-2012, 06:18 AM
Hi Jan - yes, dare I say it but I also like the water....happy accident!