PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out

JonnyMack
11-10-2012, 09:22 AM
Hello,

So my six year old daughter really loves art, but she doesn't really get a lot of exposure to it at school. So I decided to start painting regularly with her and it led to my curiosity of what I could do. So here you go...one isn't finished and the other is probably just a study. I'm an absolute beginner so I'm very interested in what you far more experienced/accomplished folks may think. The unfinshed painting of the barn is from a book by George Durkee and the clouds came from me just trying to learn to paint them.

Well....let me know what you think, obviously all your critiques are welcome.

Thanks for your time. :)

Jon

Trumper
11-10-2012, 01:09 PM
:) Hi and how lovely to have something you can do with your Daughter,quality time and fun.
Regarding the paintings,abstract ( is that the right word?? ) is very difficult to comment on because it is personal,not having seen the original photo it is really hard to add anything.
The clouds look fluffy and light,once again are you going for realism?
I hope you and your Daughter really have a great time together,painting is first and foremost fun,i wish my children would show some interest :)
Keep posting :thumbsup:

rossmarie
11-10-2012, 01:37 PM
Hi JonnyMack

I like this "quirky" painting very much - the swirl of the grass, the rather less than vertical barn, the sky and the feeling of light you have achieved. The barn looks as if it might explode at any minute!

Perhaps the trees are a bit heavy and too uniformly dark green but overall it is a very attractive painting.

The only change I would definitely make would be to tone down the very white track - get a bit of colour into it - perhaps indicate some grassy bits in the middle - and get rid of those brown lines along each edge of the track which make it look too defined.

Mike :thumbsup:

P.S. Your cloud picture looks good - well done

JonnyMack
11-11-2012, 07:08 AM