PDA

View Full Version : Apple and Mango. Watercolour

Debzy
10-30-2012, 12:02 AM
Thought I would have a go at painting some fruit. I have never done fruit before. It was more of a quick study just to practice colour and values, shape and form etc. I painted them whilst sitting outside but there was no sun and it was a fairly dull day. It was tricky to get the light right. Anyway, thought I'd put it on here to see what you think and any suggestions/critique/advice are welcome. Cheers =)) Debs.

pjartwc
10-30-2012, 04:49 AM
Very nice watercolor study. I love the fluid juicy greens - very much watercolor. Perhaps the dark shadow could be lighter around the edges with touches of the fruit color. My only real problem is in the right background. You have the space divided into three almost equal-same value areas. The blue looks like water, which I don't think you intended. Perhaps if you soften the upper blue edge and touched in some orange or green and let it merge into the wet areas would add interest. Look at how much more interesting the background on the left is.

rossmarie
10-30-2012, 06:04 AM
Debs - you have a real talent for watercolour. The fruit is very convincing and looks very appetizing! I like the sheen and highlights on the green apple particularly.

The dark shadow under the fruit is perhaps a little too uniformly dark and lacking in any hint of reflective colour and I agree with pjartwc about the background (right). Perhaps a more indistinct background with less of a "horizon line" or table edge would work better?

Anyway, excellent work....I must attempt more of this myself.

Mike:thumbsup:

Debzy
10-30-2012, 08:59 AM
Thank you so much Jan and Mike! I totally agree! The left side does look better. I can change the right side to make it more interesting and soften the shadows and add reflective colour. Great advice and much appreciated =)) Will post update when done. Cheers and thanks for the encouraging compliments. =)) Debs.

Andrewcody