PDA

View Full Version : Quarter inch plywood?

anamorphicart
08-30-2003, 10:35 PM
Hi!
Is there anyone who can help me? I want to paint on quarter inch plywood but am afraid it willl warp! Is there a way to stop it from warping....a good sealer, maybe...I do not want to add any framing on the back.
Thank you for any help, Judy
If there is nothing to stop the warping.........is there any other kind of light weight panel to use acrylics on.

earthy
08-31-2003, 05:11 PM
HI back at cha! Dont know for sure about plywood that thin!
But, their is something called masonite, which I believe is just a "brand name". I think it is the same thing as "hardboard". It is thin and liteweight. If you prime it you shouldn't have to cradle/brace it unless you go really large. You can just prime it and it is available at most lumberyards or DIY places like Lowes. Lots of artists here use it! As you can tell, I'm fairly new at this too :D
There is a thread titled "Gesso Queries" here in acrylics forum that might answer most of your questions about it.(sometime in the past month or so started by: petdevils) Maybe someone will see this that knows how to give you a link to it. Also you can go to the top of the forum page to the search box and type in hardboard and then do a masonite search too and find a lot of info on it that way. I have some hardboard and I think it's just what you're looking for so do searches and see what you find out! Good Luck! Wish I could be more help, but this will get you started!

CEN
08-31-2003, 09:44 PM
quarter inch plywood will warp and it will be too stiff to lay flat. Maybe if you paint both sides it would stay flat. Large size hardboard or masonite can be reinforced with strips of wood glued on back to keep it flat.

christyc82
08-31-2003, 11:30 PM