PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to Oil Pastel - First attempt!

Rieko
08-29-2003, 11:30 AM
Hi! This is my first posting in this forum. I hope to get to know you all. I usually paint with watercolor, however, I always wanted to try oil pastels. (Soft pastels look more difficult...)

This is my first attempt with the medium. It was sure fun but I had a hard time to control... And messy, too! But I love doing it!

It's done on a Gesso coated canvas board (8" X 11"). Your C & C are welcome!!!

Thank you!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Aug-2003/21540-wccognac.jpg

Dyin
08-29-2003, 12:25 PM
Welcome to the pastel forum, Reiko!!! I tend to get excited when I see someone doing oil pastels lol! Love how you played with the colors in this...and so glad you had fun with them...what brand were you using? Did you do an underpainting with WC? I know a lot do...hope to see you have more fun with these!

Rieko
08-29-2003, 01:00 PM
Dyin, thank you very much for looking!

I'm using Sennelier, since it's easier to find the brand here. :) In fact, I don't see any other brand in oil pastels. And I didn't under paint with w/c.

If you don't mind, could you help me out? I want to lay one color on the first layer without messing the first layer. Is it any trick? Or I heard that oil pastels never dry out; meaning it is impossible?

MKathleen
08-29-2003, 03:51 PM
Welcome Rieko: Good Job!
Be careful the oil pastel bug just might bite you! Oil pastels are a wonderful medium--I would suggest you take a look at the oil pastel sticky at the top of the page. There is lots of good information about oil pastel within that thread.
Speaking only for myself it's difficult to cover over a dark color using a lighter color. I use turps brushed onto the top of the color I want to cover or add to .lessen it's intensity.