PDA

View Full Version : Suede, color theory, and right colors..

IndigoRed
08-28-2003, 07:48 PM
Hello all, long time no post i know, but i have been very busy, working on my new projects and aparently learning pastels all over again :o .

Heres the thing, and a cool thing it is:D . I just recieved tons of suede board for pastel painting. And the colors are just fabulous , some ive never worked before. Theres burgandy , dark muave, deep tan like a deep earth orange, medium to dark grey, black, lilac, and a deep green.

Now my question is. How to use choose the right subject for all these differant colored supports?! I tried painting a red rose on black, did not work well, but i tried painting a yellow rose on black and it turned out well, with the supports color helping bring out certain details. I have to admit that i have been an artist for quit some time but i have only been working with color for a year now. It took me a bit to get used to color theory when it pertained to the mediums i was using, and most usually those supports used were underpainted in umber, or grey. but pastels on this suede stuff is turning out to be somewhat translucent not opaque like they would be on regular pastel paper. which means you can 8 times out of 10 see the color of this suede through the pastels. Well of course unless you use layer apon layer, but then ya start getting that chalky look, not good.

Right now my only concern is painting roses, for a collection that is supposed to be sold in the next couple weeks. And most of my roses are, red, yellow, lavender (in color) , and most of these are gradiants from white to red on the outside, and then visa versa. Yellows not giving me much of a problem, its the reds.

Ive never had to worry about the colors of my supports before, because usually they were totally covered with paint.

Ok am i rambling and semi panicing for nothin, or do i now need to learn color theory of supports and how to manipulate them with my pastels??