PDA

View Full Version : Degas and Steam

JCorbet
10-08-2012, 11:12 AM
Hi everyone!

First let me take this opportunity to say how much I love this place and more specifically the wonderful artists on it. I'm new to pastels, and I have so many questions; but I typically find that with a quick search, there is already a thread that addresses my problem. This is an incredible, unique community where people with a similar passion gather together to share their thoughts and tips without trying to "sell you something". - Something that I think is really rare in the world today.

:thumbsup:

Here's a question that I don't believe has been addressed yet. Numerous sources report that among Degas' experimental techniques was the use of steam. Now I realize that at least 1 pastel artist here on WC uses steam as a fixative, (without, I assume, altering the look of the pastel to which it is applied), but apparently Degas used it for a different purpose. According to one scholarly article I read which contains the most detailed description of Degas use of steam:

"Degas devised an ingenious method of blowing steam over the initial layers of a pastel drawing either to dissolve them into a vaprous film that would seem to float on the surface or, on the contrary, to melt them into a paste that could then be reworked with visible strokes of the brush."

Does anyone have an idea of what the author of this quote is talking about?

westcoast_Mike
10-08-2012, 12:02 PM
That's a new one for me. Where did you come across it. I'd be interested to read it myself.

Colorix
10-08-2012, 01:57 PM
Tossing out a few guesses here.

He also dipped his pastels in water, fixative, or other liquids. That'd give you a paste-like consistency which can be brushed if desired.

I'm wondering if the author is a pastel painter? I only mean it sounds a bit like art-speak to me, and I may be totally mistaken.