PDA

View Full Version : Could use some advice

artamust
08-25-2003, 12:32 PM
Could I get some advice from those of you who use pastels for Plein Aire painting?

I've done B&W sketching outside but want to take it up to the level of finished painting. I'm primarily an acrylic painter but thought pastels might be a bit simpler to start with in the field. I've used pastels in the studio in the past so I'm already somewhat familiar with them. Question is - what do you recommend for a simple field setup?

To get started I thought I would work from my lap on a drawing board. I want to keep the items I need to a minimum.

Thanks for any advice,
Steve

CarlyHardy
08-25-2003, 01:07 PM
I don't work sitting...so an easel (french type) is best. That way I have a place to sit my pastels out in front of the art...and a french easel can be tilted forward a bit to cause the dust to fall off as you work.

A one piece simple box is better than a lot of separate boxes for your pastels. You don't want to have to reach all over the place and search for colors when painting plein air....time is everything! I also don't take every color...I take a basic light to dark, warm to cool, range of colors (maybe 250 to 300 sticks which are broken in two to take up less space). Since I'm familiar with the "colors" in my area, its easier to put together a box for landscapes. After a few sessions plein air, you'll feel the same way.