PDA

View Full Version : pre-setreched vs. raw/roll canvas.....quality?

-paul-
03-07-2001, 04:25 PM
ok, so i am a beginner oil painter, and hence don't want to fork out loads of cash on stuff...i already have paints 'n' brushes 'n' stuff, but regarding painting surfaces........

i have bought twice now a "value pack" of two stretched and primed canvases, 16x20,
and they seemed to me to be the same as the more expensive ready-to-go ones....which seemed to have the same density of threads or whatever.......

ANYHOW......why not just keep buying the cheaper ones.....or should i not, because they are cheap for a reason.....i don't know......the price of a roll of canvas scared me off, but maybe it's worth it?

please give me a cheap opinion...no, an opinion on cheap painting grounds....(i prefer canvas)

thanks........

------------------
Everybody is an artist;
now, whether one choses to be referred to as one or not is another story...

colinbarclay
03-07-2001, 11:38 PM
Hi Paul,
Why dont you stretch your own raw canvas and prime it ? Its easy, way cheap, and you get to make the surface exactly the way you prefer it .
Colin

paintfool
03-08-2001, 02:14 AM
I'm going to be purchasing the materials to stretch my own canvases soon. I haven't done it before so i'm sure i have a few things to learn. One question comes to mind at this time though. I have many many old canvases. Can i rip the canvas off and use the stretcher bars? I can't think of any reason why i shouldn't be able to but thought i'd ask.
Thanks
Cheryl

------------------
paintfool

-paul-
03-08-2001, 02:29 AM
ok, so maybe i should just say now....
why do you think that a no-name "value pack" of two pre-stretched canvases are cheaper than two seperate ones of a brand name (can't think of the name) ? i forget the price difference, but it was more than a few cents!.... what makes one worth more....remember, both the same size,density or whatever, and primed.......
are there bad pre-stretched canvases?
thanks.