PDA

View Full Version : Introducing myself

jay-pea
08-21-2003, 08:23 AM
Hi all,

I thought that I might as well introduce myself here. I know I should have posted some sample work in this post but my digicam isn't home right now... I'll post something later, although there isn't much to post yet - I'm just starting out with pastels. My master's thesis is now ready (computer science) and I thought I might take up something nice as a hobby now that my studies are over ;) Since I have always adored pastels I thought I might give it a try. Besides chess, drawing and painting seem to be the only things that completely take my mind off things.

As I already wrote on the weekly thread I just bought a box of Rembrandt pastels (a box of 90 sticks, the landscape selection, got a good deal) and two pads of coloured Daler-Rowney Ingres papers to start with. I would love to paint pastel landscapes although I realise that I probably should start off with simple studies to learn a bit of the medium first.

I am glad that I found WetCanvas, for me it is a wonderful learning opportunity, seeing other's work, in-progress pictures, demos and all that... I guess I will be bothering you folks with stupid questions a lot in the near future, try to bear with me ;)

Quite a long introduction... hmm... well I'll post some stuff later on, but for now - hello everyone!

Kathryn Wilson
08-21-2003, 08:33 AM
Welcome Jay-Pea! So glad you found WC and that you will posting your work in the very near future, I hope. I know you will find WC members a big help to you and that you will enjoy your time with all of us. After you get comfortable with things, you'll find the fun part is emparting to others all that you have learned.

:D :D

Mystiq
08-21-2003, 08:54 AM
Hi Jay-Pea and WELCOME!!! to WC :D